• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

  • Downloadable pattern for Autumn Bargello

Blue Night again

Michele Foster over at the Quilting Gallery organizes weekly show and tell contests.

bluenight2

This week my quilt “Blue Night” was voted first in the theme Winter Landscapes. I was thrilled, of course. A big thank you to all those who voted.

I was even more thrilled when I was informed that there was a prize.

vickwelsh-fabrics

Vicki Welsh,  who makes glorious hand dyed fabrics, was a sponsor of the event, and offered one of her fabric packages as a prize. I was even allowed to make my own choice between all the colour combinations available in her Etsy shop.

I had a hard time choosing, but landed on the pink packet in the end.

pinkfabrics

The quilt “Blue Night” was made of half inch fabric squares using a collage technique. Lots of colour variations are needed when making these collage quilts, so this packet will be a great start for a new project. Thank you, Vicki, and thank you, Michele, for arranging the shows.

Just after the quilt was made, I posted some work-in-progress-pictures on my website so that you can get an impression of how it was made.

One of the inspirations for the quilt was a class I took from Mr Edmund Cluett, a very talented fiber artist.  He used to have a website showing some of his work, but it is no longer online. However, on this page I have posted a suggestion on how you might still be able to see some of his work.

🙂

Eldrid

15 Responses

  1. Absolutely gorgeous – I can see why it won! Congratulations; well deserved =D

  2. Thanks for blogging about the Quilters’ Show & Tell. Just to clarify, Vicki was the sponsor not one of the guest judges. I plan to keep judges and sponsors separate when possible.

    Enjoy your gorgeous fabrics.
    Michele

    • I am sorry about the mistake, – I must have confused Victoria with Vicky. It has now been corrected in the blog post.
      Thanks again for arranging these events, – I have just been over and voted for some of this week’s contestants 🙂

  3. This is so incredible – wow!!

  4. Hi there I love your Blue Night Again, it has a wonderful myseterious depth to it. However after I had looked at your pic for ages I scrolled down to your ice photos and the star photos. Would it be OK if I featured your blog on my blog today please? quiltingantics.wordpress.com

  5. […] my accounts, which is the real reason I had turned my computer; when I came upon this blog called Kameleon. I was mesmerised by this piece called Blue Night, isn’t it captivating? Following which I […]

  6. I saw your quilt through the Quilting Antics site. It is astonishingly beautiful. It has such depth, pulling the viewer in the way a painting would. Really lovely and most deserving of the prize!

  7. Congratulations! Your ‘Blue Night’ quilt is beautiful. Somehow you’ve managed to quilt with fabric and light : )

Leave a comment