• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

Quilt Education 4

My hexagon project is still coming along oh so slowly.  I hope to make some more progress now that we are expecting (hoping for, really) warm and sunny days when sewing is done in the garden rather than by the machine inside the house.  So I thought it was time to go on and make some decisions so the project will be ready to grab and bring outside when the aforementioned kind of day(s) come(s).

hexagonlastround

Since I last wrote about the project, I have added one more round of hexagons, but decided to add some green ones instead of only pinks as I was contemplating at the time of my last post.  I also think that the project is now large enough to be made into a cushion cover, – round, I think, – and for that I need a border.

But which fabric should I choose for the border?

I imagined that a border in the beige fabric with flowery vines in the second last round would be nice. I thought I had lots of leftovers from the dress I sewed some years ago, but could not find any more remnants than the ones I had used for the hexagons.

I found another one with similar colours and vines which might do:

hexagonborder

Perhaps it will be too busy…?

I also found a green fabric very similar to one of the greens in the second round:

hexagonborder2

Hhmmmm  …….. maybe. Not too bad.

Finally I dug out the dress made from the beige fabric:

hexagonborder3

If only I could find those remnants!!

Granted, the dress has shrunk quite a lot while hanging in the closet, but even though quilters joke about it all the time, I am not quite ready to cut up a perfectly good dress to finish a patchwork project, – I think.

I will have to sleep on it for a few nights.

Eldrid

Quilt Education 1

Quilt Education 2

Quilt Education 3

2 Responses

  1. Personally I would choose something that provides more of a contrast to the flowers in the central hexagon: a darker green, brick red or white. However, I love seeing how other people combine colors. We are all so different in our tastes and that’s what makes people and quilts so very interesting.

  2. Hexagon prosjektet ditt blir jo flott, så får vi bare håpe på noen varme sommerdager som vi kan kose oss med håndsømmen ute.

Leave a Reply

