• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

  • Downloadable pattern for Autumn Bargello

Tulip Quilt

tulipan

This quilt was started as a way to use some blocks that were left over from a previous project,  The blocks had lots of colours in them.

I wanted to make something to resemble a landscape, so grouped some blocks with similar colours and added strips in between.  The blocks and strips were then framed in a light blue fabric with a pattern that looked like clouds.

I wanted a very big tulip to be in the centre of the quilt, and with the background finished, I drew it to size and appliqued it on top of the background and border.

tulipandet1

One of my goals in making this quilt was also to practice some freehand machine quilting on a piece that was not too unwieldy.

tulipandet2

I had a lot of fun thinking up different kinds of doodles that would fit inside the space between the wavy lines.

tulipandet3

I also played around a bit on the tulip itself. The result is so-so, but I hope to experiment more with this kind of thread work later on.

This will be my contribution to the 10th Blogger’s Quilt Festival. A small jubilee, since I have participated in all of them up to now.

My quilt is entered in the Applique quilt category.

Here are my previous entries:

Spring 2009

Autumn 2009

Spring 2010

Autumn 2010

Spring 2011

Autumn 2011

Spring 2012

Autumn 2012

Spring 2013

Be sure to visit the Blogger’s Quilt Festival to see all the entries.

🙂 Eldrid

48 Responses

  1. This is gorgeous! It just jumped out of my blog feed. Lovely!!!

  2. This is really striking and I love your quilting

  3. Det flotteste jeg har sett på lenge! Du er en stor inspirasjon for mange quiltere. Tusen takk!

  4. Beautiful! Your quilting is just fabulous!

  5. Det ble fantastisk flott!

  6. Wow, you are a true fabric artist! Gorgeous!

  7. It’s stunning!! Your thread-painting and detail work!

  8. Åååååå! Sååååå vakkert, Eldrid.

  9. Sååå nydelig! Kjempefine farger og quilting. Du er råflink:) Lykke til!

  10. Nice work. Eyecatcher!

  11. Absolutely stunning! Love the colors you used, the stitching, the depth created–it’s all just beautiful.

  12. Love the scrappy background effect

  13. Your quilt is beautiful! I love the thread painting and the layers created by the quilting.

  14. as always, a lovely quilt!! i love your creativity! it’s stunning to see what you do with materials. thanks for sharing and have a great day.

  15. Hi Eldrid, that’s lovely. I really like the way the quilting is the same as the line crosses from the ‘sky’ (gorgeous fabric btw) to the landscape and back yo sky. We recently had a talk from sheena norquay and she does the same. If you Google Sheena Norquay quilts and click the images tab you can see lots

    x

    • Thank you, benta, I am glad you liked it.
      Actually the sky fabric is quite old, bought it at a time when I fancied I would do lots of landscapes 🙂
      I googled Sheena but only five very blurry photos turned up in the image search (strange…?). Found her website and there were a few more photos, but not very many. Finally searched in Pinterest, and lots turned up, including some sea scapes with similar quilting on them.
      She has done lots of different things, though. I remember seeing the Goddess Freya at Ascot once, but have not seen so much of her recent work. It is exquisite. Thanks for the tip 🙂

  16. Love your quilting!

  17. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a tulip this realistic. You captured the flower gorgeously. I always liked tulips and was wondering why there isn’t a design that actually looks like a tulip instead of just the outlines. Job well done! And I absolutely love the pieced background you used. The quilting looks absolutely fantastic!

    • Thank you very much, Kati R. There are so many types of tulips, – when I drew mine, I had in mind the ones with lily-like, pointed petals. I am pleased you liked it.
      Actually outline tulips are easier to sew, which is something designers keep in mind when publishing patterns, I think.
      Thanks again 🙂

  18. So unique and beautiful. You did a great job with the quilting – I’d say your practice was a success!!

  19. Found you on the bloggers quilt festival and LOVE your tulip and all the machine stitching you did… thanks for sharing your work of art 🙂
    Kathi

  20. This is truly a work of art! Stunning!

  21. I *love* when quilters are able to successfully incorporate earlier blocks into new projects and you did just that! This is fabulous! Beautifully executed quilting, too! Yum!

    • Thank you very much, sewfrench. It is one of the fun challenges of making patchwork: to see what you can make out of what you have got. I am pleased that you liked it 🙂

  22. Beautiful

Leave a comment