• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

  • Downloadable pattern for Autumn Bargello

Our neighbours this year…

…. have turned up. Or maybe they have been here all the time, only we see them more easily now that the evenings are not dark anymore.  Sometimes I just hear someone walking in the woods on the hill above our house, sometimes I can see something or other moving in there, and sometimes I can see them quite clearly at the far end of the field.

A couple of days ago I was sitting by my sewing machine quilting a baby quilt, and when I happened to glance out of the window, I saw this fellow just outside the garden fence:

hjort1

He was busy eating, only glancing up now and again to see if something was up somewhere. He has still got some of the winter coat left across his shoulders.

hjort2

After a while a second animal came out from behind the trees, – this time a doe.

hjort3

They were both happily munching grass as they lazily moved across the field.

I went back to my quilting, equally happy with my own activity.

Some time later, I saw the doe lying in the middle of some blueberry bushes, ruminating peacefully.

hjort4

By now it was almost dark, but I managed to catch her in the photo above. I checked several times, and she lay there till it was totally dark, – at least.

holly

I already knew, from obvious signs in the garden, that something, or somebody, had been around for a while.

Now we know who they are.

Eldrid

5 Responses

  1. Hi,

    With your permission I’d like to add your blog to the blog page of my new quilting directory, Quilt Qua : http://www.quiltqua.com/links/blogs/ You can let me know if you’d like to be included. If you would like to be on the first alpha list, you simply need to let me know you’ve made mention, or placed a link on your site, back to Quilt Qua. I can send you a graphic if you’d like one for that purpose.

    I try to check my lists, but if I’ve already contacted you, I’m sorry.

    I look forward to hearing from you. Please note photos are always welcome on the Show and Tell page (right now there is a giveaway connected to the show and tell), and do let me know if I’ve missed your business to list on the web site!


    Thank you,
    Connie Colten
    Quilt Qua
    http://www.quiltqua.com
    619-562-0867

  2. I liked this story very much, and it amazes me to see wild animals so close to one’s home.
    I travel for work 60 km daily, there are 20 years now, but only once I have seen two deers on a field. It seems that wildlife is at its large in Northern Europe, more than in our land.
    I’m glad they did not disturb you, despite minor damages in the garden.

    Hugs.
    Alexandra

    • Alexandra
      The number of deer has increased as the number of cows and sheep have decreased over the last 30 years. They are very common here now, and can also be a nuisance at times. The most serious backdraw is that they are bearers of ticks, which again may carry the borrelia bacteria causing Lyme disease (borreliosis) in humans. The number of infections are growing every year.
      But as long as they do not jump at me from behind a corner on dark evenings, I do not mind their being around 🙂

  3. How magnificent Eldrid. Not just to see them but to also capture them in pictures. I’ve never seen a deer in my yard but one of my sons has, and it’s not uncommon to see them in the surrounding area. We have White-tailed deer here in Nova Scotia. Yours look a bit like Santa’s reindeer.

    • I never thought of that, Amy Lynn, – maybe they look a bit like reindeer before their antlers are fully grown.
      We have to go to the inland mountain areas, or to the north of Norway, to see real reindeer.

Leave a comment