• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

A Christmas Present for Myself

Sometimes I just fall head over heels in love with a quilt. That is what happened with this one:

annabel

I spotted it as it was posted for sale at the website “Through our Hands”, and I could not believe my luck that it was still available when I came across it. I decided on the spot that this was going to be a Christmas present for myself, and hurried to buy it before someone else could snap it up from under my nose.

annabel2

It was made by UK artist Annabel Rainbow in 2011. If you visit her website, you will see that it is very different from her current work, which is absolutely fantastic, by the way.

The quilt is approximately 58 cm square, each block is 6 cm, and it is made entirely of silk fabric. The centre is Cathedral Window blocks, surrounded by a row of Secret Garden blocks. Those of you who are familiar with the technique, will know that a lot of fabric goes into the creation of each block. It is hand sewn through and through.

annabel3

The borders have a pattern in reverse applique, with border fabric re-appliqued on top of the circles in every corner. The blocks all have a small pearl in the centre.

annabel4

The name of the quilt, “Hoc Sensu Modo”, is hand embroidered along the top border, and it means “This side up”.

It is a gem, and I just love it.

🙂

Eldrid

10 Responses

  1. Nydeleg teppe, og praktfullt handverk! Forstår godt at du fall for dette. Håper du har hatt ei fin jul, og eg vil ønskje deg eit godt nytt år!

  2. Er så enig, Edny 😉 Godt nytt år til deg og dine!

  3. how can she bear to let it go? You have a treasure there my friend! Happy New Year xxx

    • I wondered about that too, Benta, – but then I have asked myself that very same question about all the quilts I have bought over the years. 🙂
      Happy new year to you too!

  4. This is wonderful and I am glad you got it! A lovely quilt needs a home where people know about its beauty and value – and you know it best! Hugs! Happy New Year though a little late!

  5. Nydelig quilt. Skjønner godt du falt for denne. Og så i silke da! Og håndsydd! Jeg skal besøke den kunstnerens blogg øyeblikkelig.

  6. It is absolutely stunning! Nothings screams COLOR like a well-made silk fabric, what a find!

Leave a Reply

