• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

Fabric Shopping in Rome

I am fabric hunting for a new project, and since my husband and I went on a short holiday to Rome, I decided to look up some shops there.

Among all the sightseeing, we managed to visit one of them yesterday.

This shop is located on the Largo di Torre Argentina, not far from the Piazza Venezia. In the middle of the square next to the shop, they are now digging out some “new” old temples, so it is possible that the shop also sits on top of some old temple or other.

Anyway, – the interion of the shop was almost unbelievable.

The shop is on two floors, and has floor-to-ceiling shelves filled with fabric in several rooms. I have to add that the ceilings are quite high in all the rooms.

There was fabric of almost every kind you can imagine, and in every colour. They also had quilting fabrics, but not a large selection. It did not matter to me though, as that was not what I was after this time around.

As we were browsing the rooms, we suddenly came across these two small gems hidden among the bolts of fabric.

I sometimes wonder if fabric shopping triggers some kind of I-am-not-tired-yet-hormone. When browsing around, looking and feeling, I am not tired, but as soon as I have to stand and wait for the fabric to be cut, I could literally drop on the floor.

Luckily, there were taxis stationed a few metres from the shop.

On my way out, I also noticed that they sell fabric suitable for the centurions who are posing almost everywhere in the tourist areas.

Right around the corner there is also another very large shop, the Bassetti Tessuti, which we have not visitet yet. It is rumored to be the largest one in Rome.

Still two more days to go, though. 🙂

Eldrid

One Response

  1. OK, you are REALLY making me drool, all those glorious fabrics! Enjoy the trip, and all the chances to touch fabric.

Leave a Reply

