• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

Hexagon Flowers

After making patchwork for more than 20 years, I have accumulated a few fabric scraps, – in fact, I think they are breeding like rabbits even as I write. As throwing out fabric is more or less a mortal sin, I have to find ways to use those scraps.

Making paper pieced hexagons is one way of dealing with them, but it is not a very speedy technique, so I will have to look out for something faster as well. However, hexagons are great for taking everywhere, and is what I have been doing while soaking up the sunshine at the end of this summer.

I did some basting last autumn, and brought out the project again and did some more a few weeks back. Then I made lots of hexagon flowers, – well, – some anyway.

I plan on joining the flowers with one row of hexagons in between each one.  I want the connecting hexagons to be all in the same colour, – or very similar, – so they will act like a background to the flowers.  I plan on starting with the hexagon flowers I have made so far, then add more if I feel like it.

So I have been auditioning fabrics for the background. Here I have spaced the flowers at the approximate distance they will have in the quilt. I think the flowers really pop on a black background.

However, I doubt if I will be up to sewing so many hexagons in black, – I fear that it will be very hard on the eyes, and I might be discouraged and not finish the project. So even if I like the look of the black background, I may settle for a light one in the end. If so, I think I will have to keep the other light fabrics in the centre of the flowers so they do not blend too much into the background.

I have two and a half yards of this fabric, but think maybe I should use several light fabrics from the beginning in case I will be short. There is no telling at this stage how large I may want the quilt to be.

One of my goals is to find a way to join the hexagon flowers without having to fold the pieces with the paper templates still inside.  I do not know if it is possible at all, but I will try 🙂

Eldrid

6 Responses

  1. your hexagons & flowers are just lovely.

  2. Already your wonderful eye for color shows in the stack of hexagons! I started one once, but lacked the patience for all that prep.

    Maybe that is why I have since made four postage stamp quilts? Two inch (or smaller if you want) squares of fabric stitch up faster than you expect. I have done the random look, but the one (#5!) in progress now is color sorted.

    Do take a look at my last completed one, using 4,096 two inch squares of fabric! Find it at:
    http://thecuriousquilter.wordpress.com/2010/09/19/another-big-hug-finishing-feels-great/

    I still enjoy looking at teh marvelous creations you encountered on your trip to Russia. Thank you so much for sharing! – Mary, The Curious Quilter

    • Thank you, Mary. I think lots of colours works very well with this technique. Now, four postage stamp quilts is quite an achievement. Maybe I will try my hands on something similar to clean out some more of those small fabric pieces 🙂

  3. Hello
    To use scraps in hexagons is an old tradition to Réunion island (french island) where it is called make a carpet of the beggar. Look at this blog I like very well http://decoranath.canalblog.com/archives/2008/07/24/10027731.html and look how she makes a “rosace”(name for this hexagon)
    http://decoranath.canalblog.com/archives/2006/07/14/2294814.html

    For your work I also think the flowers really pop on a black background.

    • Thank you very much for the links, Marie-Thérèse. It was interesting to see how the rosace hexagon was made, – have not seen it made this way before.
      I guess most patchwork quilts started out as a way to utilize every remnant when fabric was scarce. I did not know till now that making patchwork also was a strong tradition on the Réunion island. Do you live on this island?

Leave a Reply

