• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

More Murmansk Quilts

There were some other quilts hanging in the exhibition rooms that we visited. There were examples of traditional quilt patterns like we are used to see, and also a few quilts that had taken their motifs from Murmansk and the surrounding area.

The most impressive was one made by Roza Tonkich. She is  not a member of any of the quilt groups, but is an individual quilt artist who is well known and respected in the area.

The quilt is a winter view of the city of Murmansk, – the northern lights above, and she has included some well known sights of the city, like the big statue on the hill above the city.

I was told she worked on this quilt for 2 years before it was finished.

A second quilt also shows scenes from Murmansk, and has also included the boats on the fjord below the ciry.

It  has a collage of some of the familiar sights,  and I particularly liked the clever use of plaids and stripes in this quilt.

The third quilt does not focus on the modern city, but shows the landscape of the Kola peninsula, – maybe like it was before with mountains, lakes, hills, and woods, – and with small villages in between.

I thought that the paisley fabric used for the cabins was very appropriate. We visited some older villages, and although many of the houses there were old and run-down, the need and skill of the original owners/builders to decorate their houses was still very visible. The houses belong to, as well as add to, the landscape.

I think the quilt captures very well the “spirit” of these “flowery” log houses.

Ok – that’s the end, so far, but I hope I will have some more to show you another time.

Eldrid

6 Responses

  1. The Northern Lights quilt is the most eye catching, but the charm of the cabins in the countryside is so inviting! Having that on my office cubby wall would be like having a window…

  2. All of these are awesome quilts. Especially I liked the second from the top. That’s marvelous.

    It so interesting to see that in other countries than in Finland quilting is so popular.

    I have also quite many quilt photos in my blog which can easily be found under Category: “Quilting&Parchwork”.

    I really enjoyed this post.

    • Sartenada,
      I agree about these quilts, also about your favourite. Thank you for commenting.
      I am visiting your blog, and am in awe as I scroll back through the posts and see all your wonderful photos.
      Thanks again 🙂

  3. I needed to thank you for this fantastic read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I have got you bookmarked to look at new things you post…

Leave a Reply

