• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

Orchid

I mistreated one of my orchids cruelly the other day. While the temperature was barely above freezing, I took it out into the snow to take some pictures of it.

I tried to do it from inside, but there were all kinds of reflections in the window pane, and also the light was poor, so I was not very happy with the resulting photos.

Outside it went like a dream, however, and I got the “white on white” effect I was after. It only took a few minutes, and believe it or not, the orchid is still alive and kicking (- well, – blooming), and it has already been several days since the ordeal.

Then it was on to the computer to play a bit. Maybe add some blur in the background…..

………. and I kind of liked this bluish variation.

Playing around a bit more today, I came up with this:

And here is the bluish version again:

One or both of these could perhaps become a nice fabric design. But first, I’ll have to work some more to get the motifs to tesselate properly, – and maybe do away with the stark white background.

Wow, – this is fun 🙂

Eldrid

10 Responses

  1. Eldrid – I just love that pure white on white. I am sure your orchid will forgive you – after all you were putting it in the limelight and orchids as such superior flowers that I am sure it would like that.

  2. steikje fine bilde ! Går det an å sei det slik?

  3. Å stakkars orkideen da, men bildene ble kjempebra! Godt fotografert!

  4. Eldrid, I have had no luck whatsoever with orchids. Perhaps there’s something about the indoor air of my home that does not agree with them. Yours are so beautiful.

    The white on white image is lovely but there’s something about the bluish variation that appeals to me too.

    • Thank you, Amy!
      I have the same experience as you, but with other kinds of flowers, – which may be blooming wildly in friends’ homes, but wither away in our house. I do not know why.

  5. Av ein eller annan grunn er orkideen min ein av dei ytterst få plantene som har overlevd her i huset. Sikkert pga den eksklusive dietten (flat farris frå botnen av flaska… når eg hugsar på å gi den noko i det heile).

    Det kvite bildet er overjordisk vakkert!

Leave a Reply

