• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

Apropos silk fabric

Since I am working on some church textiles just now, I have been surrounded by silk fabrics and thread for some weeks.

I also subscribe to a few mailing lists on the topic of church textiles, and a few weeks back, someone posted links to some old out-of-print books about liturgical art. The books have been converted to pdf-files. Below is a page from one of them. It was originally printed in 1939, but the excerp below is from a reprint right after WW2, where the author needed to add the following:

The chapter ends rather abruptly, as there is a mix-up of the book pages in the pdf file, and the next page is lost. You can find the whole document here .

It is hard to think this was written no more than 65 years ago. Just for comparison, –  I wonder how many of today’s quilters who have thought about what it would be like if fabric supply as we know it were to come to an end?

What utter hopelessness.

Eldrid

2 Responses

  1. So often while sewing I have felt close to the fabric in ways that are difficult to describe. Fabric can be both practical and inspiring. I can just imagine what it would be like to be without the textiles that I presently take for granted.

  2. Hi Eldrid! How lovely to make contact with you. I too am a sewer and a quilter, so I found your blog quite fascinating. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment about farming.
    I would love to know where in Norway you live. Three years ago the farmer and I had the most wonderful holiday on the Hurtigruten from Bergen to Kirkenes and back and then a few days in Bergen – we absolutely loved your country. We came at the time of the midnight sun and went to a lovely concert at midnight in Tromso cathedral – wonderful.
    I shall put you on my blog list and shall visit again. Best wishes. By the way – I love your sewn header. I too am a great lover of silk – particularly silk dupion which comes in such jewel colours.

Leave a Reply

