• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

New old bag

I had to go to town to attend a meeting the other day, and went a bit early so I would have time for some shopping.  Being on my own, – no husband, children, or grandchildren attached, – I decided to visit a fairly new antiques shop there. I had a very good excuse to do so, as our kitchen lamp fell down and broke a couple of weeks ago, and I wanted to look for a replacement. No such luck however, – the lamps they had in the shop were really too grand for our kitchen, except one, but I decided I would not really be comfortable having a lamp with 50 or 60 years old wiring in it.

Instead, I found a couple smaller items I wanted, and on my way out, I spotted this bag that I absolutely could not resist:

wovenbagfront

The fabric is woven in the same technique and in similar colours as the coverlet I mentioned in a previous post, but the pattern is different.

These days it is very popular to take old woven or embroidered coverlets or wall hangings and use them for making bags. My first impression was that this bag might also have been cut from and old coverlet, but closer inspection revealed that this is not the case here.

wovenbagback

The back side of the bag has no pattern.

seamless

However, it has the same colour as one of the front side colours, and also, there is no seam in the bottom of the bag, only in the sides. Both the front and back has been woven in one piece, so clearly this was designed to be a bag from the very beginning.

The bag is mounted on a wrought iron frame with a special kind of lock, and a chain attached for a handle.

The frame is really four hinged iron bars, and there is a small latch that prevents the hinged bars from opening up. When the latch is lifted, the frame can be opened:

openbag

The bag is lined with a grey green cotton damasque fabric.

lining

The bag has obviously been used, but is not worn.  I do not know how old it is, but my first impression was that this was something one of my grandmothers could have owned. The colour combination and weaving technique are both traditional, but the pattern is not. The asymmetric design has a more modern feel to it.

wovenbagfront2

The more I look at it, the more I like it, and I am very happy that it came home with me.

Eldrid

Leave a Reply

