• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

Update on the Sapphire 870Q

This is long overdue, but better late than never.

A couple of months ago I wrote this message, asking for feedback from other machine owners on the condition of their machine casings. Mine had sharp and uneven edges and corners, which hampered the movement when free motion quilting. The Husqvarna representative had told me that all casings were the same, and that everybody else were satisfied with theirs, which I did not think  could be quite right. I asked around in different fora, and the answers I received online and in private e-mails could be roughly grouped in three categories:

1  Most people had casings that were ok, – no sharp edges or corners, or level differences where different parts of the casings had been fitted together.

2  Some had either sharp edges/corners or level differences, or both, in varying degrees, but have not seen this as a problem for various reasons: don’t quilt, don’t free motion quilt, use Fab-U-Motion when free motion quilting, use Suprem Slider or similar product to reduce friction.

3  A very small number have casings similar to mine and think it is a problem, but for various reasons had not complained or reported back to their dealer or to Husqvarna.

I wish to thank everyone who replied either online or privately, – you have been a great help.

I reported my finds back to the Husqvarna representative, and received a reply that they were still looking into the matter, and he would inform me when they had reached a conclusion.

A few weeks later I got an e-mail informing me that the factory now would have a greater focus on the fitting of the casings, and that the ones with the sharper edges could be returned for either new casings, or new fitting of the old one.

Long before this conclusion was reached, my dealer offered to swap my machine for one with a better fitted casing, which I think was very generous, considering that at the time, she did not know whether she would get the old one fixed/reimbursed or not.

Below are photos of the old and new machines, showing the difference. Both are Sapphire 870Q.

Old machine:

raised-sharp-edge-text

New machine:

sapphire870Qnew

There is still a very small level difference beside the needle plate, but the corner is not sharp, so it is not a hindrance when quilting.

Considering all I had read about other problems with these machines, I was also a bit apprehensive about getting a new one, as  my first machine did not show any of those common problems.  So far this one has had no tension problems, but there may be some issues with the cutter, as it does not cut the thread every time.  I have to try it out some more before I have it looked into, but from what I have read elsewhere, this may be easy to correct. Other than this, I am very satisfied with the machine so far, and will soon be doing some serious free motion quilting on it to really put it to the test.

I have found the VikingSapphire group at Yahoo.com to be very helpful and informative when troubleshooting these machines.

Eldrid

2 Responses

  1. Thank you for the information on the Sapphire.I thought it was just my machine that had issues or it was the user.:0 I have joind the Yahoo group.
    I enjoy reading your blog.
    I live in NSW Australia.
    Thank you
    Annne

Leave a Reply

