• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

My little helper

After graduating from two crutches to only one crutch when inside the house, fetching and carrying becomes easier, but can still be a bit of a problem.  Granted, I have now at least one hand free to carry stuff, but can seldom carry more than one thing at a time, and not very heavy stuff that needs both hands.

With my husband’s work  taking him away from home for a few weeks, I decided I needed a helper.

I cast my eyes on this little beauty:

helper

–  a small trolley for carrying stuff when cleaning, which is not done excessively in this house, I’m afraid, – so it has been tucked away in the room behind our kitchen for a while.  Now was the time for it to finally be useful.

I must confess I am a hoarder of containers as well as of fabrics (and also some other items which shall not be mentioned here), – and a quick trip to the store room produced a low plastic container which fit exactly on the top shelf of the trolley. Of course, finds like this always justify my hoarding tendencies.

Adding a piece of rubber mesh underneath prevented it from slipping off the shelf.

helper2

When I am alone in the house, I enjoy having my breakfast in the living room in front of the TV, – or just sitting comfortably reading a book or magazine while I eat.  My little helper can now carry all the breakfast things in one go, – no need to travel fifty times to and from the kitchen carrying one thing at a time.

helper3

It is also very useful when working in the kitchen, – carrying table ware from the dishwasher to the far away cupboards, or, as shown in the photo:  carrying all the ingredients from the refrigerator over to the kitchen table so I can be sitting down when making the salad.

helper4

But best of all: it is superb for carrying fabrics between my fabric resource center (otherwise known as stash) and my sewing space.  When auditioning fabrics for a new project I need lots and lots, and my helper can carry them all very easily.

Hurray for wheels, – and their inventor(s).

Eldrid

2 Responses

  1. Eldrid you are clever! I’m especially impressed with your use of the rubber mat to keep the plastic container from slipping.

    • Flandrumhill, – we have a proverb here: “Need teaches the naked woman how to spin”. At least that is the gist of it, – proverbs seldom translate well, – but there is always a grain of truth to them 🙂

Leave a Reply

