• My web site

  • Patterns

    Ormen Lange Bargello

    Pattern for the Ormen Lange bargello quilt

  • Mosaic Circles

    Downloadable pattern for Mosaic Circles

  • Bargello Flame

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Flame

  • Bargello Dancing Flames

    Downloadable pattern for Bargello Dancing Flames

  • Somerset Pillow

    Downloadable pattern for Somerset Pillow

  • Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

    Downloadable pattern for Nine Patch Kameleon Quilt

“Life Savers”

When I went in for my first hip replacement more than five years ago, I was very worried that weeks and weeks of weightbearing on crutches would harm my hands and wrists, as they are already weakened by RA.  Like for most quilters, or crafters in general, I think, the thought of losing the use of my hands is one of my biggest fears. 

I voiced this fear to the hospital staff, and imagine my delight when I was brought crutches like this one:

krykkje

When using these, all the weight bearing is done by the underarms, – the hands and wrists are at rest, – or only slightly occupied in lifting and steering the crutches.

krykkjer

I got the same kind of crutches this time too, and am happily trotting along 🙂

They are a bit unusual, though, and not everyone know of their existence.  At the first hospital where I stayed this time, I had to ask especially and explain what they were supposed to look like before they finally dug out a pair, – and every time I showed up in the corridor using the cruthces, their existence and function were eagerly pointed out by the staff tutoring the nurse students who had just arrived that week.

I call them my “life savers”.  I shudder at the thought of what might have happened have not these crutches existed, – or just as bad: the staff at the hospital would not know about them.

For what it is worth, I am passing this knowledge along to everyone who might need it.

Take care of your hands.

Eldrid

Leave a Reply

